Associated Builders and Contractors, Inc. 2013 Excellence In Construction Awards

  The Rocky Mountain Chapter of ABC honored exceptional efforts in Merit Shop Construction while celebrating the entire construction industry during the 12th annual Excellence In Construction (EIC) Awards held on October 18th at The Four Seasons Hotel Denver.

   Excellence In Construction provides ABC member general contractors and specialty contractors the forum to showcase their projects that are the premier representation of their work. The ABC Rocky Mountain Chapter’s EIC awards competition is patterned after ABC National’s EIC program and is the first step to compete at the national level.

A panel of seven industry experts judged the 21 award submissions:
Brad Tonkin
, Director of Sales for American Gypsum
Bruce Mauner , Senior Architect/Principal for TechniScan, Inc/Davis & Associates Architects
John Shaw , President of McWhinney
Kelly Hedlund , Architectural and Contract Sales Manager for Armstrong World Industries
Kira Chaffee , Associate Project Manager for Holland Construction, Inc. and Denver NAWIC #112 President 
Mike Wisneski , Architect and Project Manager for Michael Wisneski Architect, LLC. and AIA Colorado President
Spenser Villwock , CEO of Independent Electrical Contractors – Rocky Mountain

   Criteria included factors such as complexity, unusual challenges or problems overcome, innovative techniques or programs, value-engineering, safety records and owner satisfaction. Any project completed prior to October 15, 2013 by an ABC member in good standing was eligible. 

Excellence Winners

Douglass Colony Group , Castle Rock Adventist Hospital, Other Specialty Construction: Less than $10 million
Douglass Colony Group , DaVita World Headquarters, Exteriors
Greiner Electric,LLC , Colorado Academy Upper School, Electrical: Commercial: Less than $2 million
LEI Companies, Inc. , FasTracks West Corridor Stations and Parking, Electrical: Industrial: $2-$10 million
Milender White Construction Co. , Tapiz at Mariposa, Residential: Multi-family and condominium projects up to $100 million
Mortenson Construction , Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center, Mega Projects: More than $100 million
MTech Mechanical Technologies Group, Inc. , National Renewable Energy Laboratory Energy Systems Integration Facility, Mechanical: More than $10 million
Shaw Construction , The Matthew & Carolyn Bucksbaum Campus, Institutional: $10-$25 million
Spacecon Specialty Contractors, LLC ,  Castle Rock Adventist Health Campus, Interiors
TIC - The Industrial Company , LaSalle Gas Processing Facility, Industrial: $25-$100 million

Merit Winners

Adolfson & Peterson Construction, Suncor Energy USA Headquarters, Commercial: $10-$25 million
AMI Mechanical, Inc., Wyoming Military Department C-5/159th Readiness Center, Mechanical: Commercial: Less than $2 million
Greiner Electric, LLC., University of Wyoming Energy Resource Center, Electrical: Commercial: More than $2 million
Hensel Phelps, High Altitude Army Aviation Training Site (HAATS), Federal Government / Military: $10-$100 million
Hensel Phelps, Wyoming Military Department C-5/159th Readiness Center, Federal Government / Military: $10-$100 million
Northern Electric, Inc., Savage Railport, Electrical: Industrial: $2-$10 million
RK Mechanical, Inc., Castle Rock Adventist Hospital Phase II Campus Expansion, Mechanical: More than $10 million

ABC also gave out four special recognition awards.

Excellence in Marketing Award - This award recognizes the person who designed and produced the best project binder: Keo Frazier of Shaw Construction, The Matthew and Carolyn Bucksbaum Campus.

Special Recognition for a LEED Project:Greiner Electric, LLC, University of Wyoming Energy Resource Center.

Special Recognition for a Design Build Project:  Hensel Phelps, Wyoming Military Department C-5/159th Readiness Center.

Free Enterprise Award - This award recognizes the company that used the most ABC members on their project: Milender White Construction Co.,Tapiz at Mariposa.

ABC also thanks their sponsors for the EIC event. The list of sponsors includes the following:

Bald Eagle Sponsor: Lockton Companies.
Golden Eagle Sponsor: Enterprise Fleet Management.
After Party Giveaway Sponsor: Milender White Construction Co.
Centerpiece Sponsors:  Duro Electric Company and FCI Constructors, Inc.
Photo Booth Sponsor:  Bauerle and Company
Coffee Sponsor: Shaw Construction.
Dessert Sponsors: Hensel Phelps and IMA, Inc.
Dinner Napkin Sponsor: Spacecon Specialty Contractors, LLC.
Cocktail Hour Sponsors: Mortenson Construction and MTech Mechanical Technologies Group, Inc.
Cocktail Napkin Sponsor: BKD CPAs & Advisors.
After Party Sponsor:  Mortenson Construction.

Click here for coverage by Blacktie

See pictures from the event on our Facebook page